Joy to the World

IMG_9984Guess what you guys???? I’m pregnant! Goodness, it’s been forever since I’ve posted here but I’ve been busy, very busy (smile).

My husband and I are expecting our little bundle of joy in late April. She – yes she – is already awesome and we can’t wait to meet her! We’ve decided on a name – Faith Nicole. Faith because if you’ve read any previous posts on this blog then you know my faith is important to me. And Nicole because it’s my middle name – why not name the miracle baby in honor of her mom.

When I was diagnosed with breast cancer in 2010, my doctors shared options for preserving my fertility since I was so young.  However, I decided not to pursue any of those options and instead I chose to trust and believe that if I desired to have a child – God would make it so that I would have one.  (Take delight in the Lord and He will give you the desires of your heart. – Psalm 37:4)

When I was diagnosed with metastatic breast cancer in November 2013, I did ask my oncologist about having children in the future. She advised me to not have children since the cancer I had was triggered by hormones – particularly estrogen.  Fast forward to early August, a missed period, two pregnancy tests (of course I did the test twice…for confirmation 🙂 ) and here we are! Five months pregnant with a healthy baby girl.

When I say God is good! I absolutely mean it! He is so faithful. After my first diagnosis, I began to thank God often that I would be a great mom. I began to thank Him for my future child. Even before I met my husband, I was in the habit of giving thanks for my child – who I couldn’t even see. That’s what faith is all about!

I continue to be the show-and-tell girl everywhere I go (especially to medical clinics for checkups with my obstetrician and oncologist). The girl who was diagnosed with breast cancer at 25 years old and metastatic breast cancer at 29 is having a baby. Yes I am and it has nothing to do with me and EVERYTHING to do with God. He is so ah-mazing! I encourage each one of you to keep believing and keep the faith. Anything is possible with God!

Photo credit: Niguel Valley Sr. at niguelvalley.com

Photo credit: Niguel Valley Sr. at niguelvalley.com

Now faith is the substance of things hoped for, the evidence of things not seen. – Hebrews 11:1

And without faith it is impossible to please God, because anyone who comes to him must believe that he exists and that he rewards those who earnestly seek him. – Hebrews 11:6

Peace and Love

Leave a Reply

