Speak On It

speakersbubble_recitethisNationally, October is recognized as breast cancer awareness month. At the beginning of the year, I made a goal to schedule at least three speaking engagements where I could share my cancer survivor story – regardless of if it was breast cancer awareness month or not.

So far, I’ve had the opportunity to share my story during the American Cancer Society’s Relay for Life Survivor Sunday. Today, I’ll be speaking at a women’s shelter. During the month of October, I’ll present at a cancer awareness seminar. In addition, I’ll speak before my hometown church family and at a fundraiser for my survivor sister’s cancer support organization. Earlier this year, my mom and I had an awesome opportunity to participate in a video interview for UAMS’ Cancer Institute. I shared my cancer survivor story and my mom shared her story as a care giver. The video premiered on Friday – September 20 at the UAMS Winthrop Rockefeller Cancer Institute gala (I’ll post the video as soon as it’s uploaded online :)).

When people hear that I’m a breast cancer survivor, often their jaws drop in total disbelief. Yeah, it is somewhat of a shocker but it is my reality. I want to share my story so that people will see that you can be happy, whole, and healed after a cancer diagnosis. God’s children are victorious over sickness, anger, depression, addiction, selfishness, fear and any other tactic used to try and destroy us. God is so faithful! With Him nothing is impossible. Every day is a new day full of promises from God and an opportunity to share His love with others.

Peace and Love

3 thoughts on “Speak On It

Leave a Reply

