Race Highlights 2010

Race Day was this past Saturday.  Team 20SomethingSurvivor was 27 members strong and raised a total of $575…that’ll cover the expenses for three mammograms. I’m super proud of our team!  The weekend was a celebration of life and remembrance of those who lost their battle against breast cancer.

The city was flooded with pink wearing survivors and supporters. An estimated 46,000 people participated in the race!  I can’t wait to see how much money was raised for the foundation.  I imagine that will be announced in the upcoming days.

Here are a few highlights from the weekend –

Friday night was the annual Susan G. Komen Race for the Cure Pasta Party at the Travelers baseball stadium.  This was my first time attending and I had a great time!  Macaroni Grill catered the event and AT&T provided the adult beverages (wine and beer).  There was a silent auction that featured some pretty nice items…day spa certificates, jewelry, downtown hotel packages and much more.  There were also other breast cancer awareness freebies.  Plus, the infamous pink fire truck was there for photo opts. The band was awesome…they were very entertaining. I have a picture of the “lead singer” in action but he was actually the trumpet player.  He was on the floor so much with the microphone singing, dancing and hyping the crowd that you would’ve thought he was running the show! (Hilarious)

My best friend, grandma, mom and a sister survivor (Mrs. Gwen…my grandma’s close friend) tagged along with me…here are a few pictures from Friday night.

Vodpod videos no longer available.

Saturday was a full day!  We left the house around 6:30 a.m.  I’m rarely ever up and ready to go anywhere at that time (unless I’m heading to the airport).  I would normally be dragging that early in the morning but I was super excited to meet my teammates and hit the streets.  I’ve participated in the race before but this was the first time that I finished (somehow or another I always had to work race day so I never finished but instead managed to find a side street and make my exit…I know I know…shame on me).  I completed the 5K this year and I promise it seemed more like 10 miles instead of 3.1…here are a few pictures from the race.

Vodpod videos no longer available.

After the race my mom (yay! for the team captain) and grandma hosted a lunch for our team.  I enjoyed catching up with my friends and family.  We had a great time…here are a few pictures from our team lunch.

Vodpod videos no longer available.

I made it to bed a little after 10 race night. I was pooped but happy to have seen so many people supporting the fight to end breast cancer.  The race is one day out of the year but I, as well as many others, will be around for the remaining days to help educate others and to help eradicate breast cancer from our lives forever!

Peace and Love

Leave a Reply

