Childhood Dreams

A dream that many children have is what they want to be when they grow up. As a child, I was all across the board with my career dreams. At first, I wanted to be a teacher. I would sit my baby and Barbie dolls in rows on my bedroom floor, lean my chalk board against the wall and pull out my wooden ruler to play pretend school. I would read my plastic and poly-cotton blend stuffed students stories, answer their questions and discipline the ones who were a bit unruly. At the age of six, I was an excellent teacher!

As middle school began, I had dreams of becoming a doctor. I didn’t exactly know how this would work-out considering that I was absolutely terrified of needles! Plus, whenever I was nervous my hands would tremble and shake. I loved babies and children. Children seemed to always gravitate towards me (to this day they still do) so I decided I wanted to be a pediatrician. I just knew that one day I would work at St. Jude’s Children’s Hospital in Memphis, Tennessee. Why St. Jude’s? I can recall seeing the hospital’s infomercials growing up. The children in the commercials were confined to wheel chairs or bald due to chemotherapy treatments. I wanted to be their doctor so that I could make them feel better and help them be a kid again.

Growing up, my family and I would visit Memphis often. We didn’t have much money so visiting the Memphis Zoo, visiting family that lived there and eating at one of the restaurants on Beale Street was our family’s standard summer vacation. Whenever we entered the city we passed St. Jude’s Children’s Hospital and I’d always imagine what it was going to feel like walking the halls as a pediatrician.

By the time I made it to high school, I was a complete bookworm. I dreamed that I would be an author or a journalist. In fact, I had it all figured out. My plans were to have a summer internship with Essence magazine by my junior year of college. After interning with Essence and finishing my undergraduate degree in journalism, I was going to start my own magazine for African-American teenage girls. Yeap, I knew exactly what was going to happen (doesn’t every teenager).

Today, I’m not quite so sure what I want to be when I grow up. I work in the education field now primarily with youth. I’m responsible for providing non-formal education programs and activities within my county to help develop life skills in youth. I enjoy my job. I’ve been doing this since I finished college (for four years) and I think I’m pretty good at it. However, I don’t think that I want to do this for the rest of my life.

I want that dream to come along, like it did in my childhood, and help me figure out the next turn to make. I do know for a fact that the next career road I travel on will consist of me helping others…hopefully, the specifics will come to me while I’m dreaming.

“And I wonder if you know
What it means, what it means
And I wonder if you know
What it means to find your dreams”

I Wonder By Kanye West

Peace and Love

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

