Another Bridge Crossed

July 2010 will be history in a couple of days. I’ve crossed another bridge in my breast cancer journey. I had surgery to remove the tumor from my body (plus reconstruction). I will admit that I was pretty nervous about surgery. But I’m so grateful that the cancer has been removed from my body!

Before surgery I was a nervous wreck! My hands were shaking and my body had chills all over. I prayed for calm nerves. As the surgery team rolled me on my hospital bed to the operating room I just started singing to myself “Jesus loves me this I know…for the Bible tells me so…” before I new it I was out.

In the recovery room, once the anesthesia allowed me to open my eyes I almost hyperventilated because I was in so much pain. It was super scary! But the recovery team new exactly what to do…give me pain medicine and my mama! That combination worked a miracle. I made it through. It’s been over a week since surgery and I’m at home recovering well. God stood by my side…I knew that He wouldn’t let me down.

I received my pathology report this week. The cancer was in more lymph nodes than expected. In fact, of the eight lymph nodes removed cancer was present in seven of them. The chemotherapy that I received before surgery was not effective in reducing the tumor. It didn’t grow any but it barely shrank. So now I have a lot of decisions to make concerning my follow-up treatments to reduce cancer from returning.

I know my journey isn’t over. There will be other bridges that I must cross. I’m going to be okay. I’ll be here to tell you about it every step of the way (hey that rhymed : ) I’m thankful to have loving family and friends to take this trip with me. Peace and Love always.

One thought on “Another Bridge Crossed

Leave a Reply

